Favorite Famous Athletes From Hawai’i

by Zen

This is a poll on favorite famous athletes from Hawaii. My first paragraph will be about my grandpa. Next, it will be about my grandma’s opinion. Then my mom. Remember these are other people’s opinions and people may not agree with you.

First, my grandpa. My grandpa chose Joe Onosai because my grandpa taught him in high school. Joe Onosai loved reading and “was a nice kid.” Joe Onosai was the fullback for the University of Hawaii football team and, after graduating, got drafted by the Dallas Cowboys. He stopped playing football due to a neck injury. Later, he entered the World’s Strongest Man Competition and placed 3rd. He works at a church now.

 Second, my grandma.  My grandma’s favorite athlete from Hawaii is Konishiki, a famous sumo wrestler. He was the first non-Japanese to reach Ozeki (second highest ranking in the sport) and weighs 605 pounds. My grandma picked Konishiki because she taught him in 9th grade, and he’s also smart, sharp, and funny. A story that happened with my grandparents and Konishiki, is that they got invited to his wedding and my grandpa forgot the date. My grandma’s still mad at him to this very day. Now Konishiki is a Japanese entertainer.

Third, my mom. My mom’s favorite athlete from Hawaii is Kolten Wong. He is her favorite because she likes baseball and the St. Louis Cardinals, where he plays second base. He is known for his defense, and won the Gold Glove Award last year. When he played for the University of Hawaii, we went to a game and saw him hit 2 homeruns! 

I hope you found this poll interesting, and I hope you liked the article and the art.

Leave a comment